san antonio free parking days

If you’re planning a visit to Downtown San Antonio, finding parking can certainly be confusing. The signage can often be difficult to understand, and figuring out where you can park and when without getting a ticket (or worse, towed) isn’t always so easy. That’s why we’re here to help.

San Antonio has a lot of metered, on-street parking available, and while it requires payment most of the time, there are some times where you can get free parking on holidays and at certain other times.

Here’s our guide to San Antonio’s free parking holidays and times.

*Note: We’ve done our best to confirm the information below is accurate, but details are always subject to change so we recommend verifying everything before you park.

 

Free Daily Parking

On-street, metered parking is free after 6 pm on Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday. On Tuesdays, you can get free parking at city-operated parking garages, parking lots and parking meters from 5 pm to 2 am as part of the city’s Downtown Tuesday program. Metered parking is also usually free all day on Sunday.

 

Free Parking on City Holidays

Metered parking is also free on certain city holidays. Here’s the 2020 city holiday schedule (always confirm parking is free on these days by checking the meter):

  • New Year’s Day {Wednesday, January 1}
  • MLK Jr. Day {Monday, January 20}
  • Fiesta San Jacinto {Friday, April 24}
  • Memorial Day {Monday, May 25}
  • Independence Day {Friday, July 3}
  • Labor Day {Monday, September 7}
  • Veterans Day {Wednesday, November 11}
  • Thanksgiving & The Day After Thanksgiving {Thursday, November 26, Friday, November 27}
  • Christmas Eve & Christmas Day {Thursday, December 24 & Friday, December 25}

 

If you ever have any questions about parking in San Antonio, visit the parking page SanAntonio.gov for much more information, including parking maps and more.